University of Delaware

Modular Manufacturing Workshop

   Sponsored by the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy

A modular manufacturing workshop (MMW) is scheduled for January 17 and 18, 2017 at the Holiday Inn in Arlington at Ballston.


The objective of the workshop is to identify the current state of research, the challenges, and the opportunities in this area and develop a roadmap that can be used for future fundamental research. Key areas that will be covered include separations, catalysis, reactors, systems engineering, and other cross cutting topics (e.g., modeling, materials, and education) along with important applications that modular manufacturing can have an impact on.

Invited Speakers

Areas Name Affiliation Presentation Title
Separations William Koros Georgia Institute of Technology Gas Separation Systems: Modular Tools for Process Intensification
Michael Tsapatsis University of Minnesota  
Robert Giraud Chemours Company Sustainable Separations for Modular Chemical Manufacturing
Georges Belfort Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Challenges and Research needs for Modular Design and Process Intensification for Fractionation of Liquids
Catalysis Cathy Tway Dow Chemical Company  
Levi Thompson University of Michigan Using Cascade Concepts to Design More Energy and Atom Efficient Heterogeneous Catalysts
Susannah L. Scott University of California, Santa Barbara Designing Resilient Catalysts For Modular Applications
Mike Reynolds Shell Oil Company  
Reactors & Reaction Engineering Liang-Shih Fan Ohio State University Chemical Looping Gasification and Reforming: Modularization Strategy for Syngas Generation with CO2 as Feedstock
Georgios Stefanidis University of Leuven Electrification of Chemical Reactors for Process Intensification: Power-to-Chemicals using Microwaves and Plasma
Nicholas Bridge UOP LLC – Honeywell  
Martin van Sint Annaland Technische Universiteit Eindhoven Challenges in designing fluidized bed membrane modules
Process & Systems Ignacio Grossmann Carnegie Mellon University Centralized Versus Distributed Manufacturing: A Continuous Location-Allocation Problem
Michael Baldea University of Texas, Austin Modular Chemical Production Systems: Economics, Design and Operations
Marianthi Ierapetritou Rutgers University  
Erik Ydstie Carnegie Mellon University  
Cross-cutting Technologies Jeff Rimer University of Houston  
Anna Lee Tonkovich Tonkomo LLC. Accelerating Development of Modular Process Intensification Technology
Jim Davis University of California, Los Angeles Smart Manufacturing and Modularization (Process Intensification with Data)
Phil Westmoreland North Carolina State University Developing An Intellectual and Educational Framework For Modular Process Intensification
Lunch Speakers
Day 1 Dane Boysen Cyclotron Road Democratizing Energy Technology
Day 2 Raghubir Gupta RTI International A Case Study in Technological and Business Challenges of a Modular Process Technology


Participants

Last Name, First Name Affiliation Email
Adams, Thad Savannah River National Laboratory Thad.adams@srnl.doe.gov
Adomaitis, Ray University of Maryland adomaiti@umd.edu
Aurand, Emily National Science Foundation eaurand@nsf.gov
Balan, Prakash National Science Foundation pbalan@nsf.gov
Baldea, Michael The University of Texas at Austin mbaldea@che.utexas.edu
Belfort, Georges Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute belfog@rpi.edu
Bequette, B. Wayne Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute bequette@rpi.edu
Bielenberg, James Exxonmobil james.r.bielenberg@exxonmobil.com
Bollas, George University of Connecticut george.bollas@uconn.edu
Boysen, Dane Cyclotron Road dane.boysen@lbl.gov
Bridge, Nicholas Honeywell UOP nicholas.bridge@honeywell.com
Bruce, Tatarchuk Auburn University tatarbj@auburn.edu
Calloway, Thomas Savannah River National Laboratory Bond.calloway@gmail.com
Carole, Read National Science Foundation cread@nsf.gov
Castaldi, Marco City College of New York, CUNY mcastaldi@ccny.cuny.edu
Chadwell, Brad Energetics Incorporated bchadwell@energetics.com
Chang, Qing Stony Brook University qing.chang@stonybrook.edu
Cremaschi, Selen Auburn University selen-cremaschi@auburn.edu
Dauenhauer, Paul University of Minnesota hauer@umn.edu
Davis, Jim University of California, Los Angeles jdavis@oit.ucla.edu
Dindi, Hasan DuPont hasan.dindi@dupont.com
Eichner, Melissa Energetics Incorporated meichner@energetics.com
Epling, William University of Virginia wsepling@virginia.edu
Fan, L.S. Ohio State University fan.1@osu.edu
Fisher, James Department of Energy/NETL james.fisher@netl.doe.gov
Fletcher, Karen AIChE (RAPID Manufacturing Institute) kfletcher100@gmail.com
Fulay, Pradeep P. West Virginia University Pradeep.Fulay@mail.wvu.edu
Gaffney, Anne M. Idaho National Laboratory anne.gaffney@inl.gov
Gatzke, Edward University of South Carolina gatzke@sc.edu
Georgakis, Christos Tufts University christos.georgakis@tufts.edu
Giles, Lauren Energetics Incorporated lgiles@energetics.com
Giraud, Robert The Chemours Company robert.j.giraud@chemours.com
Goyal, Amit Southern Research agoyal@southernresearch.org
Grassi, Vince Lehigh University Vince.Grassi@lehigh.edu
Grossmann, Ignacio Carnegie Mellon University grossmann@cmu.edu
Gupta, Raghubir RTI International gupta@rti.org
Hanjing, Tian West Virginia University htian@mail.wvu.edu
Hasan, Faruque Texas A&M University hasan@tamu.edu
Herzfeld, Jennyfer Energetics Incorporated jherzfeld@energetics.com
Hock, Adam Illinois Institute of Technology ahock@iit.edu
Hu, John (Jianli) West Virginia University john.hu@mail.wvu.edu
Ierapetritou, Marianthi Rutgers University marianth@soemail.rutgers.edu
Jenks, Cynthia Ames Laboratory cjenks@ameslab.gov
Jiao, Feng University of Delaware jiao@udel.edu
Jones, Andrew Activated Research Company andrew.jones@activatedresearch.com
King, Cindy University of Delaware kingc@udel.edu
Koros, William Georgia Institute of Technology wjk@chbe.gatech.edu
Kokkinos, Angelos Department of Energy  
Kovvali, Anjaneya ExxonMobil Research and Engineering anjaneya.s.kovvali@exxonmobil.com
Krause, Theodore Argonne National Laboratory krauset@anl.gov
Kusiak, Andrew The University of Iowa andrew-kusiak@uiowa.edu
Lage, Jose Southern Methodist University JLage@nsf.gov
Lee, Jennifer Royal Society of Chemistry leej@rsc.org
Lerou, Jan Jan Lerou Consulting, LLC Janlerou@gmail.com
Li, Fanxing North Carolina State University fli5@ncsu.edu
Lighty, JoAnn National Science Foundation jlighty@nsf.gov
Lima, Fernando West Virginia University Fernando.Lima@mail.wvu.edu
Lin, Hongfei Washington State University Hongfei.Lin@wsu.edu
Liu, Dongxia University of Maryland liud@umd.edu
Lobo, Raul University of Delaware lobo@udel.edu
Lueking, Angela National Science Foundation alueking@nsf.gov
Makila, Tommi Energetics Incorporated tmakila@energetics.com
Marler, David ExxonMobil Research & Engineering David.o.marler@exxonmobil.com
Marton, Andras Hydrocarbon Processing and Transportation Independent Project Analysis, Inc. amarton@ipaglobal.com
McCabe, Robert National Science Foundation rmccabe@nsf.gov
Mehta, Rajesh National Science Foundation rmehta@nsf.gov
Miller, David U.S. Dept. of Energy, National Energy Technology Laboratory david.miller@netl.doe.gov
Miller, David C. Department of Energy/NETL david.miller@netl.doe.gov
Moloy, Kenneth National Science Foundation kmoloy@nsf.gov
Mountziaris, Lakis National Science Foundation  
Mountziaris, T.J. National Science Foundation tmountzi@nsf.gov
Ohadi, Michael M. University of Maryland ohadi@umd.edu
Patience, Gregory Polytechnique Montreal gregory-s.patience@polymtl.ca
Peden, Chuck Department of Energy/BES/Catalysis Science Program charles.peden@science.doe.gov
Pellegrino, Joan Energetics Incorporated jpellegrino@energetics.com
Pereira, Carmo DuPont carmo.j.pereira@dupont.com
Pfromm, Peter Kansas State University pfromm@ksu.edu
Read, Carole National Science Foundation cread@nsf.gov
Reynolds, Michael Shell Exploration and Production Company mike.reynolds@shell.com
Rezaei, Fateme Missouri University of Science & Technol rezaeif@mst.edu
Ribeiro, Fabio Purdue University fabio@purdue.edu
Rimer, Jeffrey University of Houston jrimer@central.uh.edu
Rownaghi, Ali Missouri University of Science and Technology rownaghia@mst.edu
Sastri, Bhima Department of Energy bhima.sastri@hq.doe.gov
Schottel, Brandi National Science Foundation bschotte@nsf.gov
Schwartz, Viviane Department of Energy/BES viviane.schwartz@science.doe.gov
Schwartz, Harrison Energetics Inc. hschwartz@energetics.com
Scott, Susannah University of California, Santa Barbara sscott@engineering.ucsb.edu
Shiflett, Mark University of Kansas mark.b.shiflett@ku.edu
Stefanidis, Georgios University of Leuven georgios.stefanidis@kuleuven.be
Thompson, Levi University of Michigan Ltt@umich.edu
Tonkovich, Anna Lee Tonkomo leetonk@tonkomo.com
Tsapatsis, Michael University of Minnesota tsapa001@umn.edu
Tway, Cathy The Dow Chemical Company cltway@dow.com
van Sint Annaland, Martin Eindhoven University of Technology m.v.sintannaland@tue.nl
Veser, Goetz University of Pittsburgh gveser@pitt.edu
Vlachos, Dion University of Delaware vlachos@udel.edu
Weber, Robert Pacific Northwest National Laboratory robert.weber@pnnl.gov
Westmoreland, Phillip North Carolina State Univ / CESMII prwestmo@ncsu.edu
Wilhite, Benjamin Texas A&M University benjaminwilhite@mail.che.tamu.edu
Wong, Hsi-Wu University of Massachusetts Lowell hsiwu_wong@uml.edu
Xu, Bingjun University of Delaware bxu@udel.edu
Yagoobi, Jamal Worcester Polytechnic Institute jyagoobi@wpi.edu
Ydstie, Erik Carnegie Mellon University ydstie@cmu.edu
Yoon, Seongkyu University of Massachusetts seongkyu_yoon@uml.edu
Zavala, Victor University of Wisconsin-Madison victor.zavala@wisc.edu


Organizing Committee
Marianthi Ierapetritou, Rutgers University
Paul Dauenhauer, University of Minnesota
Adam Hock, Illinois Institute of Technology
Dion Vlachos, University of Delaware